NEW CHIEF HYDROGRAPHER OF JAPAN



Mr. Masaru SHIOZAKI, New Chief Hydrographer of Japan

Mr. Masaru SHIOZAKI assumed the post of the Chief Hydrographer, Hydrographic Department, Maritime Safety Agency, Japan, on 1 April 1994.

On the occasion of his appointment as the Chief Hydrographer of Japan, he expresses: "I am well aware that our EAHC region covers most extensive and important part of the areas in the world, and the hydrographic offices in our Commission have been in the close and cooperative relationship within the framework of EAHC. I sincerely hope that such relationship will be further developed and promoted through a series of cooperative activities in the region. With our EAHC Newsletter, for instance, we can strengthen such relationship and spirit of mutual cooperation by exchanging information, views, news and other useful and interesting topics

of our mutual concern. I would, therefore, like to ask each and every Member a big favour to render a full cooperation in providing such news, topics, etc. with the Permanent Secretariat of the Commission."

J.H.D. STAFF RESHUFFLED

In April 1994, some of the staff members of J.H.D. as well as Hydrographic Departments of Regional Maritime Safety Headquarters were reshuffled. The newly appointed Directors, Heads, and regional hydrographers are:

In J.H.D. Tokyo Headquarters

- Mr. Tei NAKAJIMA, Director, Geodesy and Geophysics Division;
- Dr. Yoshio KUBO, Director, Oceanographic Data and Information Division (Japan Oceanographic Data Center (JODC);
- Mr. Makoto TODA, Head, Chart Maintenance Office, Oceanographic Data and Information Division;
- Mr. Kazuma IGARASHI, Head, Survey Ship Operation Office, Administration Division;
- Dr. Hideo NISHIDA, Head, Marine Research Laboratory, Planning Division; and

Mr. Ryoki SARUWATARI, Head, Marine Pollution Research Laboratory, Ocean Surveys Division.

In R.M.S. Headquarters

- Mr. Ryoichi HORII, Director, Hydrographic Department, 1st R.M.S. Hqs. in Otaru, Hokkaido;
- Dr. Minoru SASAKI, Director, Hydrographic Department, 3rd R.M.S. Hqs. in Yokohama;
- Dr. Masakazu TSUCHIDE, Director, Hydrographic Department, 4th R.M.S. Hqs. in Nagoya;
- Mr. Harushi SUZUKI, Director, Hydrographic Department, 5th R.M.S. Hqs. in Kobe; and
- Mr. Masayoshi HIRAO, Director, Hydrographic Department, 6th R.M.S. Hqs. in Hiroshima.