# NEW CHIEF HYDROGRAPHER OF REPUBLIC OF KOREA



Mr. Lee, Hwan Guan Director General Office of Hydrographic Affairs Republic of Korea Mr. Lee, Hwan Guan was appointed as Director General of the Office of Hydrographic Affairs, Ministry of Transportation, Republic of Korea, on 8 June 1992, relieving Mr. Chang, Kye Sung, who was the former Director General of the Office.

Born on 3 September 1937, he graduated the College of Commerce, Young Nam University, in 1963 and graduated the Graduate Administration School of Yon Sei University in 1990. After having joined the Ministry of Transportation (MoT) he served various important posts in the Ministry, including Director of Transport Policy Bureau, Director of Safety Management Bureau and Director of General Services Division.

From November 1981 to January 1983, he also served as Director of General Affairs Division of the Office of Hydrographic Affairs. Now, he has come back to the Office of Hydrographic Affairs as the Director General of the Office.

The permanent secretariat of the East Asia Hydrographic Commission (EAHC) has the honor to extend most welcome to Mr. Lee, Hwan Guan joining the Commission.

## JAPAN-KOREA HYDROGRAPHIC TECHNICAL MEETING

## HELD IN JAPAN

The 4th Japan/Korea Hydrographic Technical Meeting was held at the Hydrographic Department of Japan (JHD) in Tokyo, and its sub-session was also held at the 7th Regional Maritime Safety Headquarters in Moji, Kita-Kyushu, Japan, on 13 and 15 October 1992, respectively. The meeting held in Tokyo was attended by:

### Hydrographic Department of Japan:

- Mr. Y. KIMURA, Deputy Director General
- Dr. S. Oshima, Director, Planning Division
- Mr. M. Hishida, Director, Ocean Surveys Division
- Dr. Y. Ganeko, Director, Coastal Surveys & Cartography Division
- Dr. Y. Kubo, Director, Geodesy & Geophysics Division
- Mr. T. Tatsuno, Head, Satellite Geodesy Office

- Mr. M. Toda, Head, Marine Research Laboratory
- Mr. T. Nagai, Head, International Cooperation Office
- Mr. Y. Seto, Head, Marine Pollution Research Laboratory,
- and many other senior officers concerned.

#### Office of Hydrographic Affairs, Korea:

- Mr. Cho, Se-Yun, Director, Maritime Safety Division
- Mr. Kim, Sung-Sik, Director, Oceanographic Division
- Mr. Sung, Baik-Sik, Deputy Director, Maritime Safety Division
- Mr. Lee, Byung-Seob, Deputy Director, Oceanographic Division, and
- Mr. Kim, Young-Bae, Senior Officer, Nautical Charting Division